Archive for the ‘Deleting’ Category

Tip #129: Deleting holdings in the Item Status screen

An easy way to remove several items at one time from the Evergreen catalog is to use the Item Status Screen. Rather than go into the Holdings Maintenance screen for each holding you wish to withdraw from your collection, just scan each one into the Item Status Screen (F5), then delete all the items and volumes in three easy steps:

  1. Highlight all the items you wish to delete (Click on the first, then last barcode while holding down the Shift key).
  2. From the Action for Catalogers pull-down menu, select Delete Items.
    1. Click OK when the ‘are you sure’ window pops up.
    2. Click OK again when the ‘items deleted’ window appears.
  3. From the Action for Catalogers pull-down menu, select Delete Volumes (the items should already be highlighted from the Delete Items process).
    1. Click “delete” when the ‘are you sure’ window appears.
    2. Click OK when the ‘volumes deleted’ window pops up.

IMPORTANT: If, instead of the ‘volumes deleted’ window, you get a message advising you must delete all items before deleting a volume, that means that one or more of the items in your list was attached to a volume that still isn’t empty. You cannot (and don’t want to) delete a volume that is not empty. Unfortunately, Evergreen doesn’t clue you in on which title in your list is associated with a not-empty volume, so if you don’t know, you’ll have to highlight the list a section at a time and delete the volumes in groups until you have the non-empty volume isolated.

If you are deleting several items, it will take a while before the ‘are you sure’ window appears. It’s probably a good idea to not delete more than about 50 items at a time.

Note that there is no ‘right click’ option. You must use the Action for Catalogers pull-down menu to delete items and volumes.

It’s very important that you delete all empty volumes as well as the items.

Any empty volume left on a record will prevent the record from automatically being removed when the last holding is withdrawn. This is different than deleting items in the Holdings Maintenance screen, where volumes automatically disappear when the last item is removed.
Originally published on April 13, 2012.


Tip #50: Deleting multiple items

If you need to delete a cart of books, music, DVDs, etc., you do not always have to go into each record individually and delete from the Holdings Maintenance screen.

Instead of deleting these items one at a time, scan them into the Item Status screen and delete them as a group.

Follow these simple steps:

  1. Scan all items to be deleted into the Item Status Screen (F5)
  2. Highlight all items (Click on the first, then last item while holding down the Shift key)
  3. From the Action for Catalogers pull-down menu, select Delete Items
    • Click “OK” when asked if you’re sure
    • Click “OK” when advised items deleted
  4. From the Action for Catalogers pull-down menu, select Delete Volumes
    • Click “delete” when asked if you’re sure
    • Click “OK” when advised volumes deleted

You must always first delete the items, then the volume. Evergreen will not allow you to delete a volume unless it is empty.

If, when you select Delete Volumes you get the message, “You must delete all the copies on the volume before you may delete the volume itself”, this means that at least one of your items was attached to a volume that still is not empty. In other words, your library or branch held multiple copies of an item with the same call number and your library is not withdrawing all of the copies. You cannot (and don’t want to) delete a volume if it is not empty. If you don’t know which item is causing the problem, try highlighting and deleting a few volumes at a time until you’ve pinpointed the volume that still has holdings. Then highlight and delete all remaining volumes. NOTE: Because the Item Status Screen does not show you which volumes cannot be deleted when you get this message, It is best to use this method of deleting holdings only if you’re fairly sure that most or all the items being deleted are the only copies of that item held at your location.

It’s very important that you delete the volumes as well as the items. The volume only automatically disappears if the item you deleted was the only holding on the record. If other libraries also had holdings attached to the record, the volume (the line containing the call number) will remain unless you do step 4 above. Leaving empty volumes becomes problematic when all the other libraries delete their holdings but your library’s empty volume is still on the record. Evergreen will not automatically delete a record if there is a volume attached, even if it’s empty.

You may have noticed that the Copy Buckets screen has a batch function tool called, “Delete All From Catalog”. When you use this tool, volumes will not be deleted unless your item happens to be the only holding on the record. For this reason, if you are deleting items from a bucket, please use the “Show Status” batch function tool instead and delete the items in your bucket from the Item Status Screen. (If you have more than 20 items in your bucket, be sure the “Trim List (20 rows)” box has been deselected on your Item Status Screen.) After you delete the items and volumes in the Item Status Screen, you can refresh the Copy Buckets screen and the “Deleted?” column will change to ‘yes’.

To learn how to use the Column Picker to display the “Deleted?” column on the Copy Buckets screen, refer to Chapter 4 of the EI Cataloging Training Manual. More information about the Item Status Screen can be found in Chapter 15 and Chapter 17 explains how to use Copy Buckets.
Originally published on August 27, 2010.



See Also

Categories



MARC Fields